GLDC Governance and Management

The CRP GLDC seeks guidance and approval from the 12 member Independent Advisory Committee (IAC), which includes seven non-CGIAR members and five ex officio CGIAR members. One of the ex officio members is the lead center Director General. The ISC carries fiduciary and legal responsibility for implementation of the CRP.

GLDC Director’s office makes up the Program Management Unit. The Deputy Director General for Research at ICRISAT will be the CRP Director (20% time allocation) and supported by a full-time program manager administrative assistant, ICRISAT communications and financial staff.

CRP Director reports to the lead center Director General and will chair the Research Management Committee (RMC) who has implementation responsibility for the CRP. The RMC is comprised of about 14 members, which include the five flagship program leaders, a senior gender specialist, and three center focal points (preferably partner centers DDG-R) and the CRP Director. In addition, there will be four non-CGIAR partners within the RMC. The group will be responsible for establishing, executing and monitoring CRP research, strategy, workplans, and budgets.

Flagship Programs (FP’s) will be individually managed by the FP Leader with reporting from leaders of Clusters of Activity (CoA). FP and CoA Leaders will spend 40% of their time focused on GLDC activities with both management and research responsibilities heavily engaged in implementing activities on-the-ground with implementation partners. Cross-cutting activities include gender, youth, capacity development, impact assessment, intellectual asset management, and communication. Contact points for these activities integrate throughout the entire CRP reporting to each of the FP Leaders.

GLDC Leadership:

GLDC Director:
Dr Kiran K Sharma

GLDC Program Manager:
Neena Jacob

Flagship Program 1: Priority setting and impact acceleration
Dr. Arega Alene, International Institute for Tropical Agriculture (IITA)

Flagship Program 2: Transforming Agri-Food Systems
Dr. Andy Hall, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO)

Flagship Program 3: Integrated Farm and Household Management
Dr. Jules Bayala, World Agroforestry Center (ICRAF)

Flagship Program 4: Variety and Hybrid Development
Dr. Janila Pasupuleti, International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT)

Flagship Program 5: Pre-Breeding and Trait Discovery
Dr. Rajeev Gupta, International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT)

Flagship Program 6: Common Beans for Market and Nutrition
Jean Claude Rubyogo, The Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT

Facebook IconYouTube IconTwitter Icon